Welcome to Middelburg
Did you know?
Middelburg was previously called Nasareth (root from dry land), in 1864 by the Voortrekkers. They were situated on the banks of the Klein Olifants River. The name changed from Nasareth to Middelburg in the year 1872. It received its name to mark its location between the Transvaal capital Pretoria, and the gold mining town of Lydenburg.
The Dutch Reformed Church bought the Sterkfontein Farm in 1864. They completed the church in the year 1890. This church was not destroyed during the Anglo Boer War and can still be seen as an important monument.
It is definitely worth a visit.
A sad part of this town’s history is that during the Anglo Boer War, the British build a large concentration camp. As many as 1381 women and children died there and their graves are next to the Memorial Museum.
Steve Tshwete Local Municipality is situated in the Nkangala District Municipality of the Mpumalanga Province in South Africa.
This municipality in Middelburg was one of the four to have passed the 2009-10 audit by the Auditor – General of South Africa. It is named after Steve Tshwete, a ANC activist imprisoned by the apartheid authorities on Robben Island in the year 1964 to 1983.
Middelburg has a area space of 3 976 km² and it has a rich history background. For a relatively small town it has quite a lot to offer.
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/people/Go-Veza/100004288666974